About the Federation of ASEAN Economic Associations (FAEA)

In 1976 the Society initiated the founding of the Federation of Asean Economic Associations (FAEA), consisting of the respective national economic societies of Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand. Emeritus Professor Lim Chong Yah, then President of the ESS wrote to his counterparts in the other ASEAN countries advocating the formation of such a Federation. The objective of this Federation is to promote the study of economic science in ASEAN countries on a cooperative and coordinated basis. Emeritus Professor Lim Chong Yah was later conferred the "FAEA Founder's Distinguished Award," an award in recognition of him being the founder of the Federation.

In 2002, Vietnam joined the FAEA. The FAEA now comprises of economic associations of the seven ASEAN countries – Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Malaysia, and Philippines. The FAEA endeavors to provide useful inputs to economic policy-making in each member country and to contribute to the economic development of the region. It does this through the annual regional conference, which is hosted by each member economic association on a rotational basis. During the Conference, economists from the various associations exchange views on issues and share country experiences.

Previously, ESS had hosted the 20th and 25th FAEA Conferences in 1995, 2000 respectively, with Mr. Goh Chok Tong, then Prime Minister of Singapore, being the Keynote Speaker for the former.

In 2006, Singapore once again hosted the 31st FAEA Annual Conference with Mr. Tharman Shanmugaratnam , then Minister for Education and Second Minister for Finance graced the event.


FAEA Member Organizations:

Cambodia Economic Association
Indonesian Economists Association
Malaysian Economic Association
Philippine Economic Society
Economic Society of Singapore
Economic Society of Thailand
Vietnam Economic Association

FAEA Affiliate Regional Organisations:

International Economic Association